Unexpected Baby Sitting Gig

Continuing down memory lane, and this journal entry is about how the boy assumes his parents don’t hae anything planned…ever.

The day in question started with me being awaken by the man of the house sitting out on the couch talking with his dad. I don’t know what the conversation was about but one thing I do know is that his voiced was raised to high heaven.

Once he was done with the phone call, we headed out to the boy’s house only to find he wasn’t there. This was okay seeing as we were there to do his yard anyway. Once I got done, I sat on the porch and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Even the boy’s dog enjoyed the sunshine.

Once we were done, we were going to head back home to get ready to go to a party the neighbor’s had invited us to. I was super excited to get out and about. As we got in an area where the phone signal was available, I noticed the boy had called and texted several times.

I made the call, he asked if we could stop by the car show and pick up the baby so we could baby sit. Wait. What? We didn’t even know you had a car show.

When I told him that we had plans he then proceeded to say that the girlriend’s mom was heading to the emergency room and needed her to go with her. Well, I guess we don’t have a choice. I told the boy we would be there in fifteen minutes.

Getting there wasn’t a problem. The problem was finding the boy. Come to find out, he was parking the cars and running around with his head cut off. I was not amused. When he finally came over to his car the girlfriend nor the baby could be found.

He proceeded to tell us, that the girlfirend had gone to her mom’s and would be coming in about five minutes. Boy, we have plans. Just because we have the baby, didn’t mean we were not going to the party.

They finally showed up and if I am being completely honest, her mother didn’t look like there wasn’t anything wrong with her but whatever. We loaded up the baby and headed for home.

When we got there, we decided to go ahead and get ourselves and the baby ready to head out We jumped on the golf cart and headed down. The party was in full force and the baby was doing so well. We ate and I drank and then the baby decided to get fussy.

Well, the man of the house was in a full blown out game of corn hole, so, I told him I would take the baby home. Everything was going fine on the way home, and yes, I had a couple but you can see our house from the neighbors but I may have swearved the golf cart a few times.

And yes, the boy saw me swearving and yelled at me when we got back. And yes, he followed me home to make sure I got back safely. He gave me the riot act. He wasn’t happy with his parents to say the least but whatever. The baby was fine and we had a good time. For what it was worth, the older generation had a great day in the life of a Slocum.

Published by janslocum

Trying to get through life one day at a time and love others

Leave a comment