Award Pickup

Continuing down memory lane, this journal entry is about the time the girlfriend and I went to a city to pick up some awards for the boy.

The day in question started with me doing my thing until the girlfriend called to see if I could take her to a city about an hour away to pick up something for the boy. At the time I didn’t know what it was and all I could think of was is she serious?

But she sounded desperate so, I told her I would pick her up at he parents house within an hour. Oh, did I mention, we would be taking the baby with us and he was cranky as all get out.

This didn’t thrill me one bit. I was kind of hoping she would leave the baby with her parents. After all, I had to go through construction which I don’t like to do even when I am by myself and I was driving a mini van which I found is a little overwelming for a person who is only 4ft. 11″.

But it is what it is. So, we headed out and of course, we got into a traffic jam. When we stopped the baby took it on himself to scream like a banshee. By the time we got moving, my head was hurting like crazy and I still needed to go downtown.

Through the grace of God, we made it through the town but the gps kept stating we were still fifteen miles from our destination. We were heading for the suburbs. When I say I hate traffic, I meant it. I could live another day without ever going through the downtown of a city and the surrounding suburbs. Sometimes I think getting to the suburbs is worse but the drive downtown is just as close in my driving thinking.

However, we finally made it to the house. She got out, walked up to a box sitting on the porch, picked it up, and got back in the van. Are you kidding me right now? This is what we came for? A five minute stoppage? What exactly is in that box, anyway?

Come to find out, it was the awards for the car show the boy was putting on. My head thumped between my eyes at this point. I needed caffeine and maybe something to eat. I had seen a McDonald’s as we came in the suburb limits and I had made up my mind we were stopping.

At the time they had the shamrock lunch special in honors of his birthday so, I decided to splurge and just that lunch alone for two people was over $25.00 but I didn’t care I needed it. I got the baby a kids meal and drove out with a whopping total pushing $40.

The food helped everyone’s mood including the screaming baby in the back. He soon fell asleep and slept the whole way back to her house while I enjoyed every single bite and sip of the shamrock lunch special. I didn’t even utter a single word on the way back. My head was finally calming down and I didn’t want the sound of her voice to set my head ablaze again. Although if I am completely honest, I think she fell asleep once we hit the interstate.

It was late when I dropped the off and the boy was waiting for us. I couldn’t even say anything to him for fear I would say something I would later regret.

I made it home in time to eat and crawl under the covers in hope this headache I had would fanish so I could at least put this day in the life of a Slocum in the memory books where it belonged.

Published by janslocum

Trying to get through life one day at a time and love others

Leave a comment